Like most websites, we use cookies and other similar technologies for a number of reasons, such as keeping our website reliable and secure, personalizing content, providing social media features and to better understand how our site is used. By using our site, you are agreeing to our use of these tools. Learn More

Who’s next?

Who do you want to answer 10 Questions? Send ideas to Pulse@capecodhealth.org

Submit a suggestion

Published on April 04, 2021

10 Questions with Kellie OliveiraSurrounded by her family, Kellie makes the most of Cape Cod life

Kellie Oliveira has worked as a patient access and scheduling manager for Medical Associates of Cape Cod for seven years, but technically joined the organization through the Emerald Physicians group 15 years ago. Kellie took on a vital role at the onset of COVID-19, managing the registration and scheduling of two testing sites for CCHC.

1) If you could have another career, what would it be?

I like doing things that help people, so if I didn’t do what I do now, I wish that I had gone into nursing when I was younger. I didn’t think that it was the right job for me because, well, I didn’t think I’d have the stomach for it, but I’ve had children and now I realize I do have the stomach for it!

2) What are you most excited about?

I love being outside and doing things with my children, so I love the summer. I love having the opportunity to have them at home – going on bike rides, going to the beach, the inflatable park, going up to NH – things like that.

I’m so looking forward to having warmer weather and just getting back to some kind of “normal.”

My job changed a lot because of COVID. I had to jump into a totally different role, managing the scheduling for the COVID testing sites. We had to learn our new EMR (EPIC) in four hours and we just jumped right in. It was a lot of long days. We worked with a great team of schedulers and staff. It was definitely different. A big change.

I’m happy to be back in the office working on patient access, but I’m also glad I got a chance to meet different people in the organization. I was on a first name basis with the people in the lab, people I had never had contact with. It was nice making new relationships.

3) What’s the next thing on your to-do list?

I have meetings for the rest of the afternoon [laughs]– yep. We’re trying to get back – between Epic and COVID, we’re trying to optimize our workflows.

When I leave work, the first thing I do is to spend time with my children, take my dog for a walk, make dinner – all the Mom stuff. I enjoy spending a lot of time with my family. All my siblings, parents, grandparents live on the Cape, so I’m lucky to have those experiences. I feel very fortunate for that.

4) What’s your hidden passion?

I love shopping. [embarrassed laugh] When I was growing up, it was a social thing, going to the mall – going shopping, hitting the sales. I used to just get dropped off there as a teenager with my friends. As an adult, I’m definitely an online shopper. It’s the convenience.

I also really enjoy my Peloton (bike). At the start of COVID, I got myself a cheap exercise bike and used it religiously, to prove to myself that I really would use it, so then I splurged. If I don’t exercise I don’t sleep as well, I get grumpy… [chuckles] The bike’s really motivating, and you can commit to as little or as much as you want. I’ll get on and do 20 minutes. You can do anything for 20 minutes, right? Then you feel good about it.

5) What are you putting off at the moment?

I’m avoiding anything like going into big social environments, anything with a lot of people. I’m really not comfortable with it. I’m not really making big commitments and plans for things far off in the future. Do you really want to plan that summer vacation? Because you just don’t know how things are going to be...

6) Favorite movie?

"The Notebook." I just love the romance of it. It’s just cute. And it reminds me of my grandparents – married 50 years and he still adores her.

7) If you didn’t live on the Cape, where would you live and why?

I’d live anyplace on the coast. Definitely East Coast, not California!

I would never want to not live near the ocean. It’s such a big piece of me. I love to have that option to go to the beach anytime, even during the times when you can’t swim. I love clearing my head, going for a walk on the beach.

I have seen people in my life who have never seen the beach and they just run toward the water. We should never take it for granted.

8) What should everyone have in their closest?

For women, that little black dress. That staple piece that when you have an event, you don’t have to shop for something. You can put on a jacket for a meeting. You can dress it up. A colorful purse and you’re good!

9) Name something you can’t do?

[Laughing] I’m not the most coordinated person in the world… so… I don’t know… I’m not the best, in general… coordination-wise, I mean. Hey, I’m trying to be honest!

10) What song is stuck in your head at the moment?

I don’t really have one, but I feel like a pop song that I hear with my kids in the car is “Happy” by Pharrell Williams. That’s a song that whenever it comes on you can dance and sing to. how to do